Networks-of-Networks Workshop


On September 12-13, 2019, SESYNC held a 1.5-day workshop focused on team science and the fundamentals of organizational management at SESYNC’s facilities in Annapolis, Maryland. SESYNC provided funding for travel, lodging, and meals for 30 on-site participants, and the workshop was streamed for additional remote participants. 

The aim of this workshop was to introduce participants to ways to plan and respond to the NSF “Accelerating Research through International Network-to-Network Collaborations” (AccelNet) Call for Proposals, which funds the development of international networks-of-networks.

During the event, participants gained an enhanced understanding of the critical roles played by leadership styles, well-developed organizational and communication strategies, establishment of a shared vision and goals, data management/sharing agreements, and adaptation as network needs change.

Discussions and presentations during the workshop included material on effective network communication, participant engagement, network leadership, and management techniques that are effective at fostering and leveraging existing U.S. investments in critical research networks. The workshop explored examples and include exercises for participants to begin to implement concepts into practice.

To view the video recordings and presentation slides from this workshop, please visit the Networks-of-Networks Workshop Materials page

Project Type
Principal Investigators
Rebecca Beilinson, SESYNC
Stuart Davies, ForestGEO, Smithsonian Institution
Jeremy Boyd Jones, Jr. , University of Alaska Fairbanks
Catherine Cramer, Woods Hole Institute
Igor Alvarado, National Instruments Corporation
Eduardo Santillan-Jimenez, University of Kentucky, Center for Applied Energy Research
Ariane de Bremond, University of Maryland
Roy M. (Gil) Nelson, Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio); Florida State University
Linda Kinkel, University of Minnesota
Pamela Collins, Conservation International
Steven Sawyer, Syracuse University
Wilfrido Moreno, University of South Florida
Timothy Spuck, Associated Universities Inc. (AUI)
Stephen Uzzo, New York Hall of Science
Charles Loren Buck, Northern Arizona University
Claire Hemingway, National Science Foundation
Christophe Marchand, National Institutes of Health
Gaetano Lotrecchiano, George Washington University
Jessica Vitak, University of Maryland
Owen White, University of Maryland
Roberto Delgado, National Science Foundation
Cynthia Parr, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Selena Connealy, New Mexico EPSCoR
Marisa Rinkus, Michigan State University
Ming Xiao, Pennsylvania State University
Sam Donovan, University of Pittsburgh