Actionable Science in Transboundary River Basins

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
Award Year: 
Principal Investigator: 
Andrea Gerlak, University of Arizona
Anita Milman, University of Massachusetts
Associated Program: 


Around the world, intensifying demands for water resources, changes in the hydro-climatic cycle, and degrading water quality pose threats to human and ecosystems. These risks are particularly of concern in transboundary river basins, where coordination across international political boundaries adds complexity to already challenging governance issues. The effective production of scientific knowledge and incorporation of that knowledge into decision-making will be a critical factor influencing how such water-related risks are mitigated, as decision-makers respond to potential impacts and externalities that span sovereign countries. This pursuit will identify promising pathways by which science is developed and informs policy in transboundary basins. Using a multi-stage approach, we will harness the expertise of an interdisciplinary group of practitioners, policymakers, and academics who work in transboundary river basins and have been producers and/or users of knowledge and information in order to (1) delineate the scope of the science produced for; (2) depict the formal institutional mechanisms for incorporating science into decision-making in; and (3) identify example pathways for the use of science in three well-institutionalized transboundary water governance institutions spanning three continents: the International Joint Commission (North America), the International Commission for the Protection of the Danube (Europe), and the Mekong River Commission (Asia). Results from this synthesis will inform understandings of the science-policy interface in transboundary rivers and will provide lessons about actionable science for policy-makers to draw upon as they consider how to best develop and enable incorporation of science into decision-making.

Ken Conca, American university
Gabriel Eckstein, Texas A&M University
Péter Kovács, Ministry of Interior of Hungary
Richard Moy, International Joint Commission
Alberto Pistocchi, Joint Research Centre, European Commission
Susann Schmeier, Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit
John Shurts, Northwest Power and Conservation Council
Ivan Zavadsky, International Commission for the Protection of the Danube River
Tammy Rebecca Albrecht, University of Arizona
Mark Colosimo, International Joint Commission
Daniel Macfarlane, University of Western Michigan
Uta Wehn, IHE Delft
Share: Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linked Icon