Postdoctoral Fellows

The National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC)’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program helps build the capacity of outstanding early career researchers to conduct socio-environmental (S-E) synthesis research. The Fellowship provides opportunities for Fellows to engage in independent synthesis projects and with a vibrant community of postdoctoral researchers, visiting scholars, and staff scientists. SESYNC also supports its Postdoctoral Fellows through a professional development program to polish academic, communication, and teaching skills.

Beginning in fall of 2015, a new learning component of the Postdoctoral Fellowship Program will offer Fellows an opportunity to learn about the theoretical foundations for studying S-E systems. This Immersion Program consists of a series of collaborative workshops led by visiting scholars.

Most SESYNC Postdoctoral Fellows are selected through an annual competition in the spring. Additionally, SESYNC accepts applications for Postdoctoral Fellowships from applicants researching S-E systems with theoretical and/or computational approaches. These applications are accepted on a rolling basis and evaluated twice per year. In 2015, the SESYNC–LTER Postdoctoral Synthesis Fellowship Program will offer additional Fellowships to conduct research involving long-term datasets from the Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) network.

Current Fellowship Program opportunities can be found here.

Profile picture User Information Areas of Interest
Albert Ruhi
Postdoctoral Fellow
aruhi@sesync.org
Aquatic ecology, Freshwater biodiversity, Global change, Water scarcity
Cassie Gurbisz
Postdoctoral Fellow
cgurbisz@sesync.org
Coastal systems ecology
Christopher Trisos
Postdoctoral Fellow
ctrisos@sesync.org
My research interests are in ecology and evolution, especially at large spatial and temporal scales, and in the biodiversity dynamics of socio-environmental systems.
Dean Hardy
Postdoctoral Fellow
dhardy@sesync.org
hazards geography; human-environment interactions; political ecology; GIScience and qualitative GIS; social justice; climate change and sea-level rise; and interdisciplinary education, research, and practice
Dexter Locke
Postdoctoral Fellow
dlocke@sesync.org
Residential land management and urban ecology
Elizabeth Daut
Postdoctoral Fellow
edaut@sesync.org
Social and ecological drivers and consequences of wildlife use; interdisciplinary one-health and conservation medicine; emerging infectious diseases; wildlife conservation, welfare, and rehabilitation particularly in developing countries.
Ginger Allington
Postdoctoral Fellow
gallington@sesync.org
human-environment connections; landscape ecology; remote sensing; plant ecology; arid rangelands; pastoralism; system dynamics models; long-term data; spatio-temporal data
Heather Randell
Postdoctoral Fellow
hrandell@sesync.org
Environmental Sociology, Social Demography, Migration, Climate Change, Global Health, Brazil, East Africa
Jenny Zambrano
Postdoctoral Fellow
jzambrano@sesync.org
Community ecology, spatial ecology, demographic modeling, climate change, conservation biology
Jessica Gephart
Postdoctoral Fellow
jgephart@sesync.org
Seafood trade; Resilience in food systems; Food security; Trade and the environment
Joseph Maher
Computational Postdoctoral Fellow
jmaher@sesync.org
Climate, Ecosystem Services, Electricity, Forest Conservation, Policy and Analysis, Valuation
Meghan Avolio
Postdoctoral Fellow
mavolio@sesync.org
grassland plant communities, urban ecology, adaptation, global change, genetic diversity, mutualism
Phillip P.A. Staniczenko
Research Fellow
pstaniczenko@sesync.org
Ecological networks
Steven Alexander
Postdoctoral Fellow
salexander@sesync.org
Environmental governance; natural resource management; human dimensions of environmental change; community-based conservation