Postdoctoral Fellows

The National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC)’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program helps build the capacity of outstanding early career researchers to conduct socio-environmental (S-E) synthesis research. The Fellowship provides opportunities for Fellows to engage in independent synthesis projects and with a vibrant community of postdoctoral researchers, visiting scholars, and staff scientists. SESYNC also supports its Postdoctoral Fellows through a professional development program to polish academic, communication, and teaching skills.

Beginning in fall of 2015, a new learning component of the Postdoctoral Fellowship Program will offer Fellows an opportunity to learn about the theoretical foundations for studying S-E systems. This Immersion Program consists of a series of collaborative workshops led by visiting scholars.

Most SESYNC Postdoctoral Fellows are selected through an annual competition in the spring. Additionally, SESYNC accepts applications for Postdoctoral Fellowships from applicants researching S-E systems with theoretical and/or computational approaches. These applications are accepted on a rolling basis and evaluated twice per year. In 2015, the SESYNC–LTER Postdoctoral Synthesis Fellowship Program will offer additional Fellowships to conduct research involving long-term datasets from the Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) network.

Current Fellowship Program opportunities can be found here.

Profile picture User Information Areas of Interest
Albert Ruhi
Postdoctoral Fellow
aruhi@sesync.org
Aquatic ecology, Freshwater biodiversity, Global change, Water scarcity
Bianca Lopez
Postdoctoral Fellow
blopez@sesync.org
urban ecology, plants, human-environment interactions, conservation, habitat connectivity, seed dispersal, plant traits
Billy Hall
Postdoctoral Fellow
bhall@sesync.org
urban geography, urban political ecology, environmental justice, food justice, geographies of race, segregation, gentrification
Chris Field
Postdoctoral Fellow
cfield@sesync.org
Coastal ecology, human dimensions of conservation, population dynamics and extinction, Bayesian statistics
Christopher Trisos
Postdoctoral Fellow
ctrisos@sesync.org
I am interested in the biodiversity dynamics of socio-environmental systems, especially at large spatial and temporal scales.
Dean Hardy
Postdoctoral Fellow
dhardy@sesync.org
hazards geography; human-environment interactions; political ecology; GIScience and qualitative GIS; social justice; climate change and sea-level rise; and interdisciplinary education, research, and practice
Dexter Locke
Postdoctoral Fellow
dlocke@sesync.org
Residential land management and urban ecology
Ginger Allington
Postdoctoral Fellow
gallington@sesync.org
human-environment connections; landscape ecology; remote sensing; plant ecology; arid rangelands; pastoralism; system dynamics models; long-term data; spatio-temporal data
Heather Randell
Postdoctoral Fellow
hrandell@sesync.org
Environmental Sociology, Social Demography, Migration, Climate Change, Global Health, Brazil, East Africa
Jenny Zambrano
Postdoctoral Fellow
jzambrano@sesync.org
Community ecology, spatial ecology, demographic modeling, climate change, conservation biology
Jessica Gephart
Postdoctoral Fellow
jgephart@sesync.org
Seafood trade; Resilience in food systems; Food security; Trade and the environment
Maia Call
Postdoctoral Fellow
mcall@sesync.org
human-environment interactions; spatial demography/population geography; migration; climate change; rural livelihoods; human-environment interactions
Nate Jones
Postdoctoral Fellow
njones@sesync.org
Phillip P.A. Staniczenko
Research Fellow
pstaniczenko@sesync.org
Ecological networks
Rob Rankin
Postdoctoral Fellow
rrankin@sesync.org
Tijana Jovanovic
Postdoctoral Fellow
tjovanovic@sesync.org